During my second weekend off, I went down to Stratford-upon-Avon to see a couple of performances and to visit some of the houses of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. When I went down on Friday, I hadn’t planned to stay the entire weekend, but ended up not going home until Sunday evening. I really do love this place and already long to go back. I think I always will, really…

Anne Hathaways stuga
Me visiting Anne Hathaway’s cottage. (After walking the so-called ‘Hatha-way’ to get there…)

 

While there I had the chance to visit The Royal Shakespeare Theatre both on a behind the scenes tour and to see a performance of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Being a great Shakespeare fan, it was absolutely amazing to finally get to see a performance here, and I thought it was a brilliant one at that. I was especially impressed with the acting, choreography and costume (set in the 1940s, one of my favourite style eras!). Due to the River Festival taking place during that particular weekend, my night at the theatre was ended with a magnificent fireworks show. To see someone use the night sky for canvas and paint with fire was the perfect end to my evening…

midsummer
Getting in the mood with afternoon tea at The Fourteas, Stratford-upon-Avon’s 1940s tea rooms, while waiting to see the performance. 

While in town I also saw a performance of Impromptu Shakespeare, where they use a randomly selected set of Shakespeare-like characters and plot twists to create an entirely new (and mostly very funny) story. At the outdoor theatre of the RSC there were also performances of Shakespeare’s plays by theatre schools. I managed to catch three plays while I was there: Much Ado About NothingLove’s Labour’s Lost, and Macbeth.

MAAN BRIT
“I have a good eye, uncle; I can see a church by daylight.” Much Ado About Nothing with The BRIT School.

Even though I did see a lot of theatre during my weekend in Stratford, I also (as mentioned) visited some of the Shakespeare related houses. I also took the time to walk along the river and see the many swans of Avon, and to visit the beautiful Holy Trinity Church, both to see Shakespeare’s (and his family’s) grave(s) and to look at the church properly.

I also had some Jammie Dodger ice cream. The Doctor Who fan in me was much thrilled with that.

Leave a Reply

